Snapchat has over 300 million active monthly users. Snapchat lets users text messages, share photos/videos, create cool pictures/videos from lenses, etc. But is Snapchat privacy-friendly? Snapchat provides an exclusive privacy feature for its users. Like, It doesn’t disclose your friend list, disappearing in seconds photo function, end-to-end encryption, and memories on Snapchat are private. With all these privacy features, you would want to know what happens when you remove a friend on Snapchat.
Through this blog, I will give you details on the following:
- What happens when you remove a friend on Snapchat?
- How to remove a friend on Snapchat?
- How to add a friend back after removing them
- If you pull someone on Snapchat, will they know?
- Difference between Removing and Blocking
Hence, if you wish to know all about what happens when you remove a friend on Snapchat, keep reading!
What happens when you remove a friend on Snapchat?
When you remove a friend from Snapchat Firstly, they won’t get any notification. Secondly, they won’t have access to your location.
You won’t have access to conversation history, but they will with the message that they cannot send you messages until you add them.
Depending on your account privacy preference, private or public. If personal, your unfriended Friend won’t be able to see your stories; if public, your unfriended friend can see your stories.
Your Snapscore will also be unavailable to them. All the snaps they send will be pending. They can still see your profile but will lock most of the profile accessibility.
Lastly, you removing them from your friend list will also make you withdraw from their friend list.
How to remove a friend on Snapchat?
Snapchat provides a feature where you can unfriend people who you don’t want to see your personal stories or have access to your location.
For now, I’ll outline how to remove a friend on Snapchat:
- Step 1: Open Snapchat
- Step 2: Tap on the Chat Icon
- Step 3: Tap and hold the Friend you want to remove
- Step 4: Click Manage Friendship
- Step 5: Tap Remove Friend
How to add a friend back after removing them?
You have unfriended them, but now you regret unfriending them and want to add them back. Adding your Friend back is just like adding them for the first time.
I’ll show you how you can do it:
- Step 1: Open Snapchat
- Step 2: Tap the Search Icon on the top
- Step 3: Search their Username
- Step 4: When you find them under Add Friends list, Tap on Add button to add them back
Note: when you remove someone, Snapchat doesn’t notify them about being removed, but when you add them back, they get the notification about being added as a friend, which can also make them spy on you unfriending them a while ago.
If you remove someone on Snapchat, what will they know?
Like other social media apps like Instagram and Facebook, Snapchat doesn’t disclose that you have unfriended them nor notify them about being unfriended.
The only way your Friend can know is if they try to send you a snap or text message and they won’t be able to, or they dig in your profile and see they don’t have access to many features.
Difference between Removing and Blocking
Removing a friend can let them not access you, but they can still search your profile, see your profile, send you a snap, etc. On the other side, Blocking them will let them not access you and vice versa.
When you unfriend someone, They won’t be on your friend list, won’t be in your inbox, or have access to your location, and all the snaps they send will be pending. But when you Block someone, They won’t find your profile and vice versa; they won’t be able to send you a snap, and Snapchat won’t send notifications about blocking them.
But blocking someone is more noticeable than just unfriending them.
Now you know how to remove a friend on Snapchat, add them back, and the difference between Removing and Blocking. I hope this article was useful and that you learned about the privacy settings Snapchat provides!