Twitter is one of the most popular social media platforms. Nowadays, everybody uses Twitter on a daily basis. It’s best known for tweets, engagement, retweets, memes, etc. Many Twitter users are concerned about its privacy settings. Users also want to know which parts of their Twitter profiles are available to the public and who can see them.
I’m here to solve all your queries about Twitter privacy and can people see what you search on Twitter. In this blog, we will talk about the following:
- Can people see what you search on Twitter
- What other people see on my Twitter profile
- Does Twitter keep your history
- How to clear search history
Can people see what you search on Twitter?
Simply put, nobody can see what you search on Twitter. It’s impossible for any internet user to have access to your Twitter search history.
Not your follower or followings on Twitter can have access to your search history. Hence, you don’t need to worry about someone seeing your search history on Twitter.
One can only see what you search on Twitter when they have access to your account can be your friend or relative who has a password to your Twitter account. Other than that, there is no way they can find out your search history.
One can see your tweets, retweets, comments, and likes and can visit your page; that’s it can’t see what to search on Twitter, and it also depends on your privacy settings. Is it a private account or a public account? If it’s a private account, then your followers will only have access to all of these things, and if it’s a public account, then all of them on Twitter will have access.
What other people see on my Twitter profile?
Other people on your profiles page can see the following things:
- Your posts, including tweets, comments, likes, and multimedia files
- Your retweets, comments, and likes on other people’s posts
- They can visit your profile whenever they want
- People you follow
- If you have the direct message option enabled, they can direct message you.
Note: the above-mentioned things can vary according to your privacy settings if it’s a private account, public account, or you have certain features turned on or turned off.
Does Twitter keep your history?
Yes, Twitter does keep your search history to know your preference and what sort of content you like to show more of the content you searched about. It’s how the Twitter algorithm works.
But there is a way you can stop Twitter from collecting or keeping your search history by making some changes in your account settings.
And here’s how you can do it:
- Step 1: Open Twitter
- Step 2: Go to Personalization Page
- Step 3: Scroll Down to Settings
- Step 4: Turn off Personalization Data
- Step 5: Tap Save Changes
By doing so, you will be able to delete all the search history that Twitter has stored to show you the content by their preference. This will also stop Twitter from collecting and storing search history in the future.
How to clear search history?
If you are concerned about whether people can see what to search on Twitter, you might also want to know how to clear your search history. No worries, I’ll show you how to clear your search history on PC and on mobile.
How to clear Twitter Search history on a Computer
- Step 1: Log in to your Twitter account on a Mac or PC
- Step 2: Click on the Search Bar
- Step 3: In the drop-down menu, you will see ‘Clear All’ click on that
How to clear Twitter Search history on a Mobile
- Step 1: Open Twitter
- Step 2: Go to Search Tab
- Step 3: Next to Recent, Tap on ‘×’ to clear your searchers
This way, you will be able to clear all your Twitter search history, and by doing this, you don’t have to worry about people seeing your search history who have access to your account. For Instance: your friends or colleagues have your account password for some personal or professional reason.
I hope you like this article, and now you’re clear that people can’t see your search history on Twitter until and unless they have access to your account which means they either have a password to your account or they have hacked your account. You can protect your account by using a strong password, using two-factor authentication, and never giving your username and password to Third-party for more followers, more money, or to verify you.